Schedule

Music Lesson Marathon: Music Production

Presented by

Music Production Lessons: Monday, June 21

All lessons will be livestreamed on DMI’s Twitch Channel.

9:00 PM EDT (6:00 PM PDT): Psychology of a DJ
BChang [IG] [YT] [SITE]

Get into the mind of a DJ. There’s more to it than just playing tracks. What song should you play next? What will get the dance floor going? A successful DJ knows a little about human psychology, culture, social dynamics, hardware, in addition to a librarian’s knowledge of dance music.
 
 

10:00 PM EDT (7:00 PM PDT): Lighting to Music
RTG [IG] [SITE]

Explore the world of a concert lighting designer. We will sit down with RTG and he’ll demonstrate live how lighting and video is used to enhance musical performances on his Sci-Fighter stage.
 
 
 

11:00 PM EDT (8:00 PM PDT): Creating a 16 Bar Loop Techno Track
Resonance [FB] [IG] [SP]

This will be an in-depth and fast paced lesson showing you tips and tricks on how to start a techno track. I will show you the basic do’s and don’ts of making techno.

The lesson will include:
Kick Drum
Percussion/Additional Drums
Atmosphere/Drone
Melody
Bass Line
Ear Candy

12:00 AM EDT (9:00 PM PDT): Creating a Tech House Drop
Qolaj [FB] [IG] [SP]

Concepts that will be covered:
Sample Selection
Sound Design
Resampling
Mixing
Arrangement: Call/Response